To Kill A Mockingbird, by Harper Lee – Book Review | Linus's Blanket

To Kill A Mockingbird, by Harper Lee – Book Review

To Kill A Mockingbird, Harper LeeIn To Kill A Mockingbird, by Harper Lee, Atticus Finch is a single father raising his two children, Jem and Scout, in Maycomb County, Alabama under the watchful eyes of dear and eccentric neighbors.  Atticus rules the roost with a seemingly lenient hands off approach (he has Calpurnia to more strongly keep the kids in line), but also  does his best to raise his children with principles and respect.  When he is called upon to defend a young black man accused of raping a white woman, he refuses to shirk his duty though, his actions will have far reaching consequences for himself and his children.

I decided to take the plunge last month when Heather, from A Capricious Reader, announced festivities to celebrate the book’s 50th anniversary. I had yet to read this highly acclaimed and much loved novel, though I have spotted To Kill A Mockingbird on the favorites list of many a reader.  I wondered about this book, and why it is almost universally loved.  This will be a pretty short review as “read this book” basically sums up my thoughts on the matter, and most people probably already have!  You have to experience it for yourself.

As soon as I started reading, I loved it.  The language is rich and inviting, and I was captivated by the world of Scout and Jem, their interactions with the neighborhood, and with Atticus.  I loved getting to know the eccentric habits of the townspeople that Scout and Jem encounter – with whom they bond, and from whom they learn valuable lessons which will inform the adults they become.  Lee excels with this novel because the characters and the town that she portrays are so vivid and fully realized.  The relationship that Scout has with her father, brother and Calpurnia are touching, and I loved the fact that the she wasn’t perfect, but was a little girl of her time, learning and growing when experiences demanded it of her.  This was one of the few books this year that I wanted to start reading again as soon as I had finished it.  I can see how Harper Lee would have retired from writing after such a wonderful novel such.

A Must Read.

Read More Reviews At: Diary of An EccentricBooking Mama – A Novel Review – The 3R’s BlogHelp! I Have My Nose Stuck in A Book

1DA652C2516038AE4D02F55645591F39 Shutter Island, by Dennis Lehane

20 thoughts on “To Kill A Mockingbird, by Harper Lee – Book Review

  • August 23, 2010 at 5:45 AM
    Permalink

    To Kill A Mockingbird is simply an amazing classic that everyone must read. I’m so glad you read it and enjoyed it. I’ve read it a few times, and I will have to read it again sometime soon. I agree “A Must Read.”

  • August 23, 2010 at 7:41 AM
    Permalink

    If I were a rereader, this would be high on the list! It truly is a must read.

  • August 23, 2010 at 9:09 AM
    Permalink

    Lovely review. I have a copy too that I got for the 50th anniversary and really must get to it soon!

  • August 23, 2010 at 9:21 AM
    Permalink

    I have to admit that I’m kind of jealous of you getting to experience this book for the first time. When I think back on my childhood, my dad “ruled the roost” in a very similar way. When knew his values and what he expected of us, so he didn’t really make rules. But, the last thing we wanted to do was disappoint him.

  • August 23, 2010 at 9:56 AM
    Permalink

    Can you imagine writing a book like this as your debut? No wonder she just threw up her hands and disappeared. I only read it for the first time a couple of years ago, all the while grumbling that my high school teachers had wronged me again. Actually, though, I’m sure I appreciated it much more now than I would have when all I really cared about was boys.

  • August 23, 2010 at 10:08 AM
    Permalink

    I really have to re-read this one; I read it so long ago, I honestly don’t remember a thing.

  • August 23, 2010 at 11:25 AM
    Permalink

    I just read it last year, and I loved it as much as everyone said I would. I’m glad you enjoyed it, too!

  • August 23, 2010 at 12:11 PM
    Permalink

    It’s been so long since I read this, I’m sure that I can feel the goosebumps of feeling as though I’m reading it again for the first time! I’m so glad to read that you liked it!

  • August 23, 2010 at 12:41 PM
    Permalink

    Geez Nicole…and I thought that I WAS the last person on earth to read this. A truly unforgettable read!!

  • August 23, 2010 at 1:20 PM
    Permalink

    I am so pleased you enjoyed it. You summed it up perfectly; it’s a must read. Now, watch the movie! :)

  • August 23, 2010 at 3:16 PM
    Permalink

    I’m so glad you liked it. It is one of my all time favorites. I’m very excited to reread it this year, not only because of the anniversary but also because my son will be reading it for the first time for his English class and I know he and I will have much to discuss!

  • August 23, 2010 at 3:54 PM
    Permalink

    I wish I had been equally inspired – I wanted to get in there and read it but still haven’t found the time. It’s on “The List”!

  • August 23, 2010 at 4:36 PM
    Permalink

    I have such fond memories of reading this one as a 14-year-old the summer I went into high school — and it really is a classic! Though I remember it clearly, it would be really fun to re-read as an adult… and more avid reader than I was back then.

  • August 23, 2010 at 8:57 PM
    Permalink

    I want to read this one… I really have to!

  • August 25, 2010 at 8:28 AM
    Permalink

    I recently read this for the first time and was blown away by it. I just love novels with eccentric characters, but there is so much going on in this book you could talk about it for days!

  • August 26, 2010 at 5:32 PM
    Permalink

    All the readalong participants are making me want to read this again. A must read indeed!

  • August 28, 2010 at 2:22 PM
    Permalink

    So glad you loved it! This is one of my all time faves :)

  • August 29, 2010 at 1:45 AM
    Permalink

    This is such a great classic read! I’m glad to hear that you liked it too!

  • September 1, 2010 at 3:11 PM
    Permalink

    This is one of my all time favorites. We named our cat Scout :) If Atticus wouldn’t get our kid beat up we’d consider naming our baby after him!

  • September 1, 2010 at 4:30 PM
    Permalink

    I also read this for the first time in July. I really enjoyed it; and I’m glad you did too. I’ll definitely re-read it.

Comments are closed.